My 7 Winter Skin-Care Saviors

IMG_8653.JPGWinter is coming — and while we might not have to fend off White Walkers (fingers crossed), flaky skin is another story. For us luckies with dry, acne-prone skin this means a constant battle between oil and salicylic acid. The first to hydrate the skin. The second to dry out acne.

My skin care weapons of choice:

  • Lush’s New Charity Pot is not only the most hydrating body lotion I’ve used, but when 100 percent of proceeds go to charity, what’s not to love?
  • Rodial Super Acids X-Treme After Party Scrub, as much as I hate the name: both the spelling of “x-treme,” and the fact that it hasn’t cured a single after-party hangover, this scrub works. It deflakes skin, which keeps dead cells from clogging pores. Plus salicylic and glycolic acids help dry out current spots.
  • Mad Hippie Oil: as a long-time acne-prone human I’ve been taught to stay clear of any product with oil. “Oil Free” on any skin care product made it a go-to. I was wrong. If in winter lotions and creams aren’t enough, try an oil. You can use flax seed or sunflower seed oils from Whole Foods, but after shattering the huge kitchen-worthy bottles in my slippery shower (twice), I turned to something in more manageable packaging. Furthermore, Mad Hippie Oil has the added bonus of antioxidants, and it never leaves my skin slick. So I can use it pre-makeup in the morning and to moisturize again before bed.
  • Mario Badescu’s Drying Lotion: This salicylic acid-heavy product is the best spot treatment I’ve tried, and I’ve tried a lot. It beats even the Derm’s topical prescriptions.
  • Olay ProX Spot Fading Treatment, as a person who finds it impossible not to pop pimples (I know I’m not the only one), a spot fading treatment is key to hiding my skin sins. This one by Olay works well and isn’t death-to-wallet expensive.
  • Flower Face the World Tinted Moisturizer, this is more of a light foundation than a tinted moisturizer. It’s not super hydrating, but I’ll happily trade that flaw for the coverage. Not to mention that it doesn’t turn my sensitive skin into an acne-torn war zone. Props for that.
  • The Clarisonic Mia 2 is my skin care Mecca. You’ve heard the hype. I’ve heard the hype. We all know it’s good. That being said, if you’re working with a smaller skin-care budget, I’ve used other brushes, like this one by Olay, that do basically the same thing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

