NYFW 2014: Mara Hoffman 60s Revival Review

Flares are trickling back into fall denim, and with stylists pairing bell bottoms with tunics and floppy felt hats for autumn and winter, it’s easy to see late 60s revival on the spring, summer horizon. While I’ve loved the past few seasons’ ode to the 90s (and my beat up levi jacket and Creepers will remain at the forefront of my style arsenal) the vigor the flower child era injects into spring/summer 2015 lines is undeniable. Watching Mara Hoffman’s lineup (via the Internet, sadly I’m currently in Iowa classrooms instead of New York’s Lincoln Center) I couldn’t help but cringe. My affinity for black made her resort-meets-60s line out of my retina comfort zone. Models in rainbow prints silhouetted against slouchy white skirts, shorts and baseball caps offended my grayscale-only predisposition. Then the strangest thing happened. A kind of Psychedelic complex. By the third model I liked it. By the sure-to-be spring/summer line staple palm printed maxi, I surrendered.

Photos via Style.com

3 2 1

What’s your favorite fashion decade?

Leave a Reply

